Law got Hall call (or knock)



ATLANTA – Former Patriots CB Ty Law, in his third time as a finalist, was selected for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame on final voting concluded Feb. 2. Law will join the Hall of Fame Class of 2019 at an induction ceremony in Canton, Ohio this summer.

Law, who played 10 of his 15 seasons with the Patriots, is the fifth Patriots player to earn induction to the Hall of Fame. Guard John Hannah, who spent his entire 13-year career with New England from 1973-85, was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1991. Linebacker Andre Tippett, who spent his entire 12-year career with New England from 1982-93, was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2008. Cornerback Mike Haynes and linebacker Nick Buoniconti are the other Hall of Famers to have worn a Patriots uniform. Haynes and Buoniconti each spent the first seven seasons of their 14-year careers with the club.

“Ty Law was one of the premier cornerbacks in the NFL during his 15-year career and remains one of the greatest players in our franchise’s storied history,” said Patriots Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft. “The committee has validated that by selecting Ty to join this year’s class in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. We have had an incredible run of success and the building blocks started with players like Ty. He was an integral part of three Super Bowl championship teams and we are honored to have another Patriot take his rightful place in Canton.”

Law spent 10 seasons with the Patriots (1995-2004) after joining the team as a first-round (23rd overall) draft pick out of Michigan in 1995. Law was a three-time Super Bowl Champion (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX), a four-time Pro Bowl player (1998, 2001, 2002 and 2003) and a two-time All-Pro (1998, 2003) during his tenure with the Patriots. Law tied Raymond Clayborn’s career franchise record with 36 interceptions and finished with the most interception-return yards in team history with 583. His six interceptions returned for touchdowns are also a franchise best. Law had nine interceptions in 1998 to become the first Patriots player to lead the NFL in that category. He was a playmaker who played some of his best games in the postseason. He helped lead the Patriots to their first Super Bowl title in 2001 when he intercepted a Kurt Warner pass against the Rams and returned it 47 yards for a touchdown for the first points of the game. In the 2003 AFC Championship Game, Law intercepted three Peyton Manning passes while leading the Patriots to a 24-14 victory over the Indianapolis Colts. Law was part of a record-breaking Patriots defense in 2003 that led the NFL in five key categories: opponents points per game (14.9), interceptions (29), fewest touchdown receptions allowed (11), opponent’s passer rating (56.2) and pass deflections (121) as the team captured its second Super Bowl title in three seasons with a win over the Carolina Panthers.

Tom Brady advocates on Ty Law’s behalf prior to his Pro Football HOF selection



Most frequent team regular season: Bills 6

Most frequent team including postseason: Colts 7

Home: 27 (including 3 in postseason)

Away: 12

Neutral: 1 (Super Bowl XXXVI)

Teams: 18 (including Rams in postseason)

Quarterbacks: 27

Most frequent QB regular season: Peyton Manning 4

Most frequent QB including postseason: Peyton Manning 7

Vs. QBs current in PFHOF: 5 (Kelly, Aikman, Marino, Young, Warner)

By half:

  • 1st: 19 (2 postseason)
  • 2nd: 21 (2 postseason)

By quarter:

  • 1st: 7
  • 2nd: 12 (2 postseason)
  • 3rd: 8 (1 postseason)
  • 4th: 13 (1 postseason)

When leading: 30 (including 3 in postseason)
When trailing: 9 (including 1 in postseason)
When tied: 1

By down:

  • 1st: 17 (2 in postseason)
  • 2nd: 12 (1 in postseason)
  • 3rd: 10
  • 4th: 1 (postseason)

For TD: 7 (1 in postseason)

Quarterbacks intercepted more than once (8): Troy Aikman (2), Alex Van Pelt (2), Peyton Manning (7 including 3 in postseason), Steve McNair (2), Chris Chandler (2), Jay Fiedler (2), Drew Bledsoe (2), Quincy Carter (2)

Intended receiver covered more than once (5): A. Reed (2), M. Harrison (3 including 2 in postseason), T. Martin (3), K. Dilger (2), E. Moulds (2)