Hall STEM Teacher of the Year Program

The 2023 nomination period has closed!

Patriots owner Robert Kraft announced a new Massachusetts STEM Teacher of the Year initiative on October 18, 2012 at the Massachusetts STEM Summit. As part of honoring the teacher of the year, Kraft committed a $5,000 grant to the winner’s school for STEM-related uses. The goal of the program is to recognize and honor a Massachusetts STEM teacher making significant contributions to STEM education and to promote the impact that educator is making in the field.

The winning teacher is invited to serve on the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council for one year and will receive tickets to a Patriots home game, in addition to the grant from the Patriots Foundation. Four runner-ups will each receive a $1,000 grant from Raytheon Technologies.

To be eligible, a teacher must be a full-time, active, certified, K-12 classroom STEM teacher in a state-accredited Massachusetts public or private school. To be considered a teacher must:

  • Spend the majority of the school day involved in direct instruction to students
  • Be skilled in implementing effective teaching strategies
  • Be able to explain personal teaching philosophy
  • Be able to inspire students in STEM-related topics
  • Show involvement and leadership in student-related extra-curricular activities
  • Be respected by students, parents and co-workers

Nominated teachers will be invited to complete an application. The Massachusetts STEM Teacher of the Year Committee will review submitted applications and select five finalists to be interviewed in early April.

The Nomination period ended on January 22, 2023.


Past winners

Shannon Morey
Abbott Lawrence Academy at Lawrence High School

Becky Colo
Longsjo Middle School

Tori Cameron
Gordon W. Mitchell School

Amanda Hough
Mashpee Middle-High School


Erin Cronin
Revere High School

Kathleen Malone
Derby Academy

David Mangus
Brockton High School

Kerri Murphy
Oliver Ames High School

Doug Scott
Natick High School

Kelly Powers
Advanced Math and Science Academy Charter School