Selection Process and Committee

Each spring a Hall of Fame committee consisting of mostly media, staff and Patriots alumni gather to nominate players to be the next Hall inductee. A candidate must be four years removed from his playing/coaching career to be eligible for induction. Committee members are permitted time to nominate a candidate of their choice and explain why that player should be considered. At the end of that process, each committee member votes for his/her top three choices with 5 points for the first choice, 3 for the second and 1 for the third. Those finishing in the top three in points are then placed on the final ballot, which is announced and then voted on by fans via

Periodically, a Senior Committee – made up of the 10 most senior members of the selection committee – gathers to consider any player that has been retired 25 or more years who also has been a previous finalist, but not been selected by the fan voting. Center Jon Morris was the first to be inducted after being selected by the Senior Committee in 2011.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Updated each Induction year

Joe Amorosino:
WHDH Channel 7

Ernie Adams:
Retired from Patriots Football staff

Ron Borges:
Formerly of the Boston Herald and Boston Globe

Bill Burt:
Lawrence Eagle Tribune


Steve Burton:
WBZ Channel 4

Marc Cappello: 
98.5 The Sports Hub

Tom Curran:
NBC Sports Boston

Jim Donaldson:
Retired from the Providence Journal

Mark Farinella:
Retired from the Attleboro Sun Chronicle

Glen Farley:
Retired from the Brockton Enterprise

Karen Guregian:
Boston Herald

John Henry:
Patriots game day statistics

Ron Hobson:
Retired from the Quincy Patriot Ledger

Fred Kirsch: 
V.P. of Content, New England Patriots

Mike Lynch:
WCVB  Channel 5

Jim McBride: 
Boston Globe

Bryan Morry: 
Former Executive Director of The Patriots Hall of Fame presented by RTX

Paul Perillo:
Patriots Football Network

Phil Perry:
NBCSports Boston

Chris Price: 
Boston Globe

Mike Reiss:

John Rooke:
PA Announcer

Dante Scarnecchia: 
Retired assistant coach and Patriots Hall of Famer

Matt Smith: 
Kraft Sports and Entertainment

Bob Socci: 
Radio play-by-play

Butch Stearns: 

Andre Tippett:
Patriots & Pro Football Hall of Famer

Howard Ulman:
Retired from the Associated Press